Heading into 2023-25 Legislative Session, Legislators Choose Leadership Teams

Republican and Democratic members of the Senate and Assembly have chosen their leadership teams for the upcoming legislative session. Now with leadership teams set, both houses will begin the process of naming standing committees for the 2023-25 legislative session, and then respective leaders will appoint members to each committee.

Assembly Leadership Elections

The 64-seat Republican majority in the Assembly re-elected Representative Robin Vos (R-Rochester) as Speaker. Vos will enter his sixth term as Speaker. He is the longest-serving Assembly speaker in Wisconsin history.

Rep. Tyler August (R-Lake Geneva) was elected to replace outgoing Rep. Jim Steineke as Assembly Majority Leader.

Speaker Vos has also announced he has re-appointed Rep. Mark Born (R-Beaver Dam) as the Assembly Co-Chair of the budget-writing Joint Finance Committee.

Other Republican Assembly leadership members are:

  • Speaker Pro Tempore: Rep. Kevin Petersen (R-Waupaca)
  • Assistant Majority Leader: Rep. Jon Plumer (R-Lodi)
  • Majority Caucus Chair: Rep. Summerfield (R-Bloomer)
  • Majority Caucus Vice-Chair: Rep. Cindi Duchow (R-Town of Delafield)
  • Majority Caucus Secretary: Rep. Nancy VanderMeer (R-Tomah)
  • Majority Caucus Sergeant at Arms: Rep. Treig Pronschinske (R-Mondovi)

Democratic Assembly leaders retained their leadership posts. Rep. Greta Neubauer (D-Racine) was re-elected as Minority Leader, with Kalan Haywood (D-Milwaukee) was reelected as Assistant Minority Leader.

Other Democratic Assembly leadership members are:

  • Minority Caucus Chair: Rep. Lisa Subeck (D-Madison)
  • Minority Caucus Vice-Chair: Rep. Jill Billings (D-La Crosse)
  • Minority Caucus Secretary: Rep. Kristina Shelton (D-Green Bay)
  • Minority Caucus Sergeant-at-Arms: Rep. Lee Snodgrass (D-Appleton)

Senate Leadership Elections

Republicans also hold the majority in the State Senate. Sen. Devin LeMahieu (R-Oostburg) was reelected to serve as Senate Majority Leader. Sen. Chris Kapenga (R-Delafield) was also reelected as Senate President.

Other Senate Republican leaders are:

  • President Pro Tempore: Sen. Patrick Testin (R-Stevens Point)
  • Assistant Majority Leader: Sen. Dan Feyen (R-Fond du Lac)
  • Majority Caucus Chair: Sen. Van Wanggaard (R-Racine)
  • Majority Caucus Vice-Chair: Sen. Joan Ballweg (R-Markesan)

Senate Democrats elected a new leader, choosing Sen. Melissa Agard (D-Madison) as Senate Minority Leader. Sen. Jeff Smith (D-Brunswick) was elected Assistant Minority Leader.

Sen. Agard announced she has appointed Sen. LaTonya Johnson (D-Milwaukee) and Sen. Kelda Roys (D-Madison) to the Joint Finance Committee.

Other Democratic Senate leadership positions are:

  • Minority Caucus Chair: Sen. Chris Larson (D-Milwaukee)
  • Minority Caucus Vice-Chair: Sen. Dianne Hesselbein (D-Middleton)

WHCA/WiCAL expects more news before the end of the year on committee appointments. We will update members once those decisions are made within the legislature. Of particular note will be additional appointments to the Joint Finance Committee, as well as appointments to other important committees to LTC providers.