2023 AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program Year Is Now Open

The AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program recently announced that the 2023 application year is now open. For the first time, application packets are available three months earlier than previous years so that skilled nursing care centers and assisted living communities can begin to prepare.

We encourage members to take advantage of this additional time to download application packets and materials and to begin planning, reviewing and gathering relevant data.

Start Today!


The National Quality Award Program is a rigorous three-level process (Bronze, Silver, and Gold) that evaluates an organization’s capabilities against nationally recognized standards for excellence. The program provides a pathway to improved outcomes in areas including care, workforce, leadership and operations.

The Value of Applying

  • An outside perspective
  • Learning from the feedback
  • Team building
  • Becoming stronger and more resilient
  • A focus on results
  • Recognition and pride

A commitment to the process leads to better occupancy rates and prepare providers to meet regulatory demands.


  • May 9 – Application packets and materials available to download
  • May 16-18 – Quality Award workshops, sessions and LED Talks at Quality Summit
  • September 15 – Portal opens for application and Intent to Apply (ITA) submissions
  • October 9-12 – AHCA/NCAL Convention & Expo and 2022 Quality Award Ceremony
  • November 10 – ITA deadline
  • January 26, 2023 – Application deadline

Summer 2023 – Bronze, Silver, and Gold Award notifications


Email the National Quality Award team at qualityaward@ahca.org.